Today in Tuesday’s Science Times, Natalie Angier discusses the why the element of surprise is so important in evolution. She wraps up her article with this:

“The combined modularity and bounciness of body parts suggest that life is spring-loaded for change, for outrageous commixtures, the wildest fusion cuisine. And who knows whether our organismic suppleness, our deep evolvability, isn’t related to our mental thirst for the new, and our hope that behind the door lies the best surprise yet?”

To me, this is music to my ears. Evolution can explain why we/I, am so interested in technology and the future. It is hardwired into my genetic makeup. So the next time I feel the need to buy a new HDTV I am going to justify my purchase with the notion that I simply can not resist my thirst for the new. Booya.